| Library home | Catalogue | Resources | Services | Help | Libraries | About us |
| Staff directory | A-Z index | Site map |
News17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers (connect | more information)This database features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817). It represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London; however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India. Age and Good weekend quarterly on CD ROM (connect | more information)
Coverage only available for 1993 to 1999 APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Australian financial review quarterly on CD ROM (connect | more information)
Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998 Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre. British Library newspapers (connect | more information)This web site includes entries for over 52,000 newspaper and periodical titles from all over the world, dating from the 17th to the 21st century. The collections of the British Library Newspaper Library include: all UK national daily and Sunday newspapers from 1801 to the present; most UK and Irish provincial newspapers, some from the early 18th century onwards; selected newspapers from around the world in western and Slavonic languages, including extensive holdings from Commonwealth countries; and a wide range of UK and Irish popular periodicals, mainly weekly and fortnightly publications as well as some published less frequently, covering all subjects from fashion, pop music, and cinema, to sports, hobbies, and trades. Business review weekly, quarterly on CD ROM : BRW (connect | more information)
Coverage only available for 1992 to 1998 chronology of Australian historic & current events : AUSCHRON (connect | more information)Information database which provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current events, and covering all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. Source documents for current events include main state and territory papers, chiefly "The Age" and "The Australian" and national news journals, reports and other publications. For historical events source documents include contemporary records such as explorer's journals and newspapers, books and journal articles. Subject coverage includes Australian historical events in all subject areas with reference to significant current events from 1993 to the present. Historical dates deal with events from earliest Dutch discoveries to the end of 1992. Current contents connect (connect | more information)A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service. eLibrary Australasia (connect | more information)eLibrary Australasia is a dedicated Australasian version of eLibrary featuring the news, reference and multimedia included within eLibrary, plus a further 150+ Australian and New Zealand newspaper titles. Titles include Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Age, and The Sydney Morning Herald. New Zealand titles include The Christchurch Press and The Dominion Post. Also featured are Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) transcripts and Australian Associated Press (AAP) newswires. Contains more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video files. Factiva (connect | more information)Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data. This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later. Media scan (connect | more information)This bibliographic database indexes articles from daily newspapers, and is specifically designed for students and researchers in Australian secondary schools, TAFE institutes and universities. The following newspapers are indexed: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997). New York times : archive (connect | more information)Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2002. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.The database covers a span of issues currently not covered by any other electronic resource. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link Newsbank newspapers : Australia and the world (connect | more information)Complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching. SA Media (connect | more information)SA Media covers more than 120 South African newspapers and periodicals. Bibliographic data and some full text are available. More than 500 articles are selected daily, categorized according to 22 categories and indexed in Afrikaans and English. Copies of original articles are available from microfiche archives for the period 1978 to 1996. SAPA (connect | more information)The South African Press Association database (SAPA) consists of full text news reports on politics, finance, commerce, sport and news in general. News is gathered from various sources such as input from member newspapers, stringers and correspondents, own reporters in the field and agreements with smaller regional news agencies. SAPA is South Africa's national news agency and supplies its news to the print media, radio and television, foreign correspondents based in South Africa, government departments, political parties, foreign missions in South Africa and to corporate clients. Sydney morning herald and Good weekend quarterly on CD-ROM (connect | more information)
1986 - present also available via Factiva. 1996 - present also available via eLibrary Times digital archive, 1785-1985 (connect | more information)Includes full page images and articles from The Times (London, England) and its predecessor, the Daily Universal Register, from its first issue in 1785 to the end of December 1985. The archive also includes digital reproductions in downloadable PDF files. Keyword searching and hit-term highlighting can be used to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. TVNews (connect | more information)TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews enables the searching, browsing, tracking and alerting of television events/items and programs. It is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Selected items/programs can be downloaded to the desktop in compressed format. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to an hour for documentaries. U.S. national newspaper abstracts (connect | more information)Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for articles from the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and USA Today. Includes full text for the first two titles. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link ViewsWire (connect | more information)The EIU ViewsWire is a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit. It delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. Contains EIU country reports & profiles. Each country is allotted an individual home page, which can be bookmarked, displaying a selection of data and a range of information available on that country. Choosing a country takes you directly to that country's home page. Once there, topics for each country as well as sub-categories for each topic are clearly displayed on the main body of the page. The country reports analyse political and economic trends, provide an 18 to 24 month forecast complementing the analysis, and include five-year statistical tables of historical data. World news connection (connect | more information)Translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat. |
|