Skip to content | Change text size

Business law

Key resources

AGIS Plus Text (connect | more information)

AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 400 titles are indexed.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: AGIS : Attorney-General's information service | CaseBase

    Business source premier (connect | more information)

    Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Covers nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Business Source Premier also includes other sources of full text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and industry reports from Datamonitor.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: ABI/INFORM global

    CCH online (connect | more information)

    Provides online access to selected Australian CCH titles and loose-leaf services. These publications cover topics such as corporations law, family law, industrial law, taxation and, occupational health and safety. Commentary, case law and legislation are included. Publications can be browsed or searched. See also: CCH Solution Finders for Corporations law, Human Resources, Industrial Relations, OHS, Superannuation, Tax, and Trade Practices.

  • Includes full text

  • See also:
    Solution finder : corporations law
    Solution finder : human resources
    Solution finder : industrial relations
    Solution finder : OHS Solution finder : superannuation
    Solution finder : tax
    Solution finder : trade practices

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Solution finder : corporations law (connect | more information)

    CCH solution finder corporations law is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian corporations law information. Information in topic areas such as regulation, commentary, ASIC rulings, newsletter articles, cases, forms and many others, are covered by this valuable information gateway.

  • Includes full text

  • For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial

    Solution finder : trade practices (connect | more information)

    CCH solution finder trade practices is a single interface providing access to CCH's range of Australian trade practices information. Covers the breadth and depth of the Trade Practices Act, Sales and Fair Trading legislation, Consumer Credit codes as well as related case law and compliance procedures.

  • Includes full text

  • For detailed guides and resources to using the CCH's Online products please go to Online Tutorial

     


    Other resources

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ASIC digest (connect | more information)

    This digest compiles the current literature of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission on its activities under the Corporations Law and other national scheme laws. ASIC Digest helps you to understand ASIC Regulatory Guides, Class Orders, Information Sheets and includes an executive summary of recent developments. The online version is updated when developments occur and features a minimum of twelve updates per year.

  • Includes full text
  • Banking and finance reports of Australia (connect | more information)

    "Takes a broad view of what constitutes a banking and finance case and offers a compilation for the convenience of practitioners. The cases reported raise issues that are important for banking and finance law and are covered within the commentary of the service. All cases reported include a specially prepared headnote focusing on the specific banking and finance issues raised and prepared by practitioners experienced in banking, finance, insolvency and related areas." -- Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • Bankruptcy in Australia : a guidebook (connect | more information)

    "A practical service where the chapters follow the natural order of a bankruptcy proceeding, taking the user through all the necessary steps with analysis and detailed discussion ... The online version of this service has all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force."--Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • British company law library (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive information service that includes the text of British company legislation and cases and commentary with the emphasis on practical guidance. Newsletters highlight recent developments.

  • Includes full text


  • Off campus: Not available
    If a pop-up message appears, click OK and wait until the link is established.
    View detailed instructions for further help.

    Business collection (connect | more information)

    Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The Business Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.

  • Includes full text
  • Capital Monitor (connect | more information)

    Provides tailored news and information services, with information from Parliament, Government and the Courts. Bills Monitors and Acts Assented sections are available for Federal, NSW and Victorian jurisdictions. Major strength is its currency, navigability, and features that aid monitoring such as 'What's new' (daily update on categorised topics), 'Newsletters' and 'Ask our experts by e-mail'.

  • Includes full text
  • CaseBase (connect | more information)

    CaseBase is a citator and annotator of cases from over 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. It provides a guide as to whether a case has been followed, distinguished or overruled by later judgments with coloured signals to flag positive, negative, or cautionary treatment. Journal articles that comment on the case are included.

  • Includes full text

  • Alternative off campus access

    Commercial contract clauses : [principles and interpretation (connect | more information)

    "Commercial Contract Clauses ... is the first systematic analysis of the process of construing and interpreting commercial contracts on a clause by clause basis, to the benefit of Australian lawyers ...The work opens with topics where knowledge is often wrongly assumed - the process of construing a contract, and issues regarding the operation of deeds. The authors then move to areas of difficulty for lawyers."--Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • Company receivers and administrators (connect | more information)

    "Provides a practical insight into company receivership and insolvency practice and is the only service devoted exclusively to company receivership, deeds of company arrangement and voluntary administration ... The legislation is updated as changes occur with the online version providing an enhanced level of currency and contains all the features of the looseleaf version together with intuitive online functionality, real time law in force and references to case law linked to, eg, FirstPoint."--Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    Also available: Library online tutorials

    FirstPoint (connect | more information)

    FirstPoint provides access to case references, citation, history, and digest information for Australian cases since 1825. All case material is classified to a detailed classification scheme, which can be browsed or searched to locate cases on legal topics. Information is sourced from the Australian Case Citator, Australian Digest and Australian Legal Monthly Digest (published by Lawbook Co.). See also CaseBase.

  • Includes full text
  • Index to legal periodicals (connect | more information)

    Indexes legal journals, books, book reviews, yearbooks, institute and bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. It includes thorough coverage of American law journals and selective coverage of law journals from the other jurisdictions.

    Kluwer law online (connect | more information)

    Kluwer Law Online provides access to over 20 online journals in a variety of areas of law including: air and space law, arbitration, business/commercial law, company/corporate law, competition law, environmental law, European community law, intellectual property, international trade law, labour law and taxation. New improvements to the site have seen each journal being allocated its own home page and the browsing facility has been much enhanced. Access to some looseleaf publications is also available.

  • Includes full text
  • LexisNexis (connect | more information)

    The Monash subscription provides access to materials on administrative law, corporations, intellectual property, forms and precedents, and general legal research tools that include a dictionary, an encyclopaedia, case citator, statute annotators and current law developments. Decisions from the Commonwealth and State courts and England are included, as well as the full text of some Australian law journals. Unreported Judgments and Australian Law Reports and Australian Current Law updated daily. Most other resources updated monthly.

  • Includes full text

  • Alternative access

    McPherson's law of company liquidation (connect | more information)

    "Company liquidation is one of the most active areas in insolvency. The authors Michael Gronow and Ros Mason write from the perspective of guiding liquidators and those representing creditors and contributories through the processes of winding up: modes of winding up and applications for winding up by creditors, contributories and others; commencement and effects of winding up; duties, functions and status of liquidators; available assets and their distribution regime; investigations, examinations and prosecutions; termination of winding up and relevant private international law."--Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  • Modern contract of guarantee (connect | more information)

    "Provides users with a thorough knowledge of the law relating to guarantees, including a complete analysis of relevant case law. This knowledge enables: solicitors and barristers to minimise financial risk to their clients and fully prepare for litigation; banking and finance professionals to understand their legal obligations and duties to customers and third parties in order to minimise the risk of loan default and costly litigation."--Thomson catalog.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Need help? Library frequently asked questions and online enquiries: current students/staff | public users, online chat, or phone +61 3 9905 5054
    Something to say? Use our online enquiry service to send us your feedback and suggestions: current students/staff | public users

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    Accessing databases