Skip to content | Change text size

Arts

Key resources

APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

CSA Illumina (connect | more information)

This Internet service provides access to databases covering all subject disciplines. Monash University Library currently subscribes to 17 databases in the following fields: humanities, environmental sciences, art, pharmacy, language and linguistics, education, library science, criminology, political science, and sociology.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

     


    Other resources

    Academic research library (connect | more information)

    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 3,820 title--over 2,550 in full text--from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (connect | more information)

    ACLS Humanities E-Book includes the full text of 2200 titles selected by scholars across the humanities. Approximately 500 titles are added each year. The collection includes both in- and out-of-print titles ranging from the 1880s through 2008. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • AfricaBib.org (connect | more information)

    The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). Also available is a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

  • Includes full text
  • American national biography (connect | more information)

    Fully searchable resource offering "portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation" with illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select Web sites. Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Arts & humanities citation index (connect | more information)

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database that covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes more than 1,144 arts and humanities journals, from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

    Arts hub (connect | more information)

    Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry.

  • Includes full text
  • Arts Research Graduate School (ARGS) PhD thesis database (connect | more information)

    The Faculty of Arts at Monash University produced its 1000th doctoral thesis in August 2006 and the Arts Research Graduate School has now placed details of all the theses produced by its doctoral candidates on this web site. Details for each thesis include name of candidate, date of conferment, discipline, supervisor, abstract and keywords.

    Artsjournal.com : the daily journal of arts, culture & ideas (connect | more information)

    Monitors and collects stories from more than 200 English language newspapers, magazines and publications that write about the arts, and posts links directly to selected stories on free access sites. Also links to art sections of newspapers, magazines and other publications and provides an archive of stories organised by arts genre.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (connect | more information)

    Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    BHI : British humanities index (connect | more information)

    This is an international indexing and abstracting database of over 320 humanities journals and weekly magazines, as well as quality newspapers published in the United Kingdom and the United States. Major areas of subject coverage include: architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, cinema, current affairs, education, economics, environment, foreign affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion and theatre.

    Blackwell reference online (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes of reference works in business and economics, the arts (history, language and linguistics, literature and cultural studies, philosophy and religion) and social sciences (sociology and psychology). It supports browsing and full-text searching. Includes the Blackwell Companions and Handbooks, and major reference works such as the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management and the Companion to Syntax.

  • Includes full text
  • Blackwell synergy. See: Wiley Interscience (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Cambridge journals online (connect | more information)

    Provides full text access to over two hundred journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

  • Includes full text
  • Columbia encyclopedia (connect | more information)

    Contains nearly 51,000 entries (marshalling six and one-half million words on a vast range of topics), and with more than 80,000 hypertext cross-references.

  • Includes full text
  • Communication studies : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Conference proceedings citation index. Social science & humanities (CPCI-SSH) : 1990-present. (connect | more information)

    The conference proceedings citation database include the published literature of the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions in the social sciences, covering: psychology, sociology, public health, management, economics, art, history, literature, and philosophy. The database allow you to track emerging ideas and new research before the material appears in the journal literature. Part of the ISI Web of Science, the database can be cross-searched with the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.

    Criminology : a SAGE full-text collection (connect | more information)

    Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format.

  • Includes full text
  • Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Dictionary of Canadian biography online= Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne (connect | more information)

    "The Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online provides access to the fourteen volumes already in print. The biographies are fully searchable by keyword and volumes 2, 4-8, and 11-14 are accessible by identity/profession and volumes 2, 5-8, and 11-14 are accessible by geographic region."--Features and updates page.

  • Includes full text
  • Directory of open access journals : DOAJ (connect | more information)

    Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

  • Includes full text
  • DISA : Digital Innovation South Africa (connect | more information)

    Covering the four key decades in the growth of opposition to apartheid rule, a period when the African National Congress (ANC), black consciousness, and other resistance movements were very active, this database provides access to the full text of approximately forty South African periodical titles of high socio-political interest that would otherwise be difficult to locate and use. The titles have been selected from a very comprehensive list, with a view to presenting not only a wide spectrum of political views published during these years, but also a diversity of subjects such as trade unions, religion, health, culture, and gender. Publications reflecting both black and white viewpoints are included, and an attempt has been made to represent distinctive regional variations.

  • Includes full text
  • Dragonsource magazines and periodicals (connect | more information)

    Exclusive agency for all China's journals internationally, this Canada-based website offers subscription service to more than 800 titles spanning more than 40 subject areas. (Monash University library has access to a subset of 200 titles only). Available are the most widely read Chinese-language magazines, with titles covering topics ranging from business and economics to family, fashion, entertainment, film and travel. The collection also includes academic journals and trade journals. All magazines are updated continuously to correspond with the print editions, and many have extensive backlists available.

  • Includes full text
  • E-korean studies = Han'gukhak teit'o peisu (connect | more information)

    Provides resources in the field of Korean studies, covering all academic disciplines such as arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, medical sciences, and physical education. E-korean studies is a product of the six database vendors led by Panmun Academic Services. These companies are Korean Studies Information Co., Ltd., Nurimedia Co., Ltd., DongBang Media Co., Ltd., Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd., Zininzin Co., Ltd. and LawnB. Databases included are: KISS (Koreanstudies Information Service System); KSI e-book (Korean Studies information Co., Ltd.); DBpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); KRpia (Nuri Media Co., Ltd.); Digital Culture Art Course (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); KoreaA2Z (DongBang Media Co., Ltd.); Kdatabase (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); KPjournal (Korea Contents Lab Co., Ltd.); Korean History & Culture Research Database (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); History Culture Series (Zininzin Co., Ltd.); LawnB Legal Information.

  • Includes full text
  • Ebook library (connect | more information)

    Ebook library (EBL) is a searchable collection of ebooks, offering content across all subject areas, from major academic publishers worldwide. Publishers included are Taylor & Francis, Palgrave Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, Kluwer Academic, Springer, World Scientific and others. Ebooks can be viewed online or downloaded to a computer or PDA. EBL offers full-text search capability across the database.

  • Includes full text
  • Eighteenth century collections online (connect | more information)

    Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.

  • Includes full text
  • EThOS : Beta : Electronic Theses Online System (connect | more information)

    EThOS makes UK theses (e and paper based) available via a 'one-stop-shop' by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. The British Library, in collaboration with many UK universities and other associations, aims to provide over 250,000 theses produced by the UK higher education system on an open access model to all researchers and others requiring information. Some theses are available for immediate download, while others can be requested from a participating institution which then sends the thesis to the British Library for digitisation.

  • Includes full text
  • Film index international (connect | more information)

    Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

    Gale virtual reference library (connect | more information)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Access is provided to titles which the library has purchased. All books can be searched simultaneously or individually. Searches can also be limited to specific subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Google scholar (connect | more information)

    Google Scholar uses the familiar Google search engine to search peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

  • Includes full text
  • Gutenberg-e (connect | more information)

    A series of digital monographs in the field of historical scholarship produced in collaboration with the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press. Each e-text may offer extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.

  • Includes full text
  • HighWire Press (connect | more information)

    Host site for over 340 journals, mostly high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in the medical and biological sciences with some physical and social sciences titles. Access to many full text journals is available where Monash University Library has a subscription or after a period of 6, 12, or 24 months. Register for email alerts, a list of favourite journals or link to related articles in PubMed or the Web of Science.

  • Includes full text
  • Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland (connect | more information)

    This searchable database consists of a comprehensive listing of theses accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Selected abstracts are provided for entries from 1970 to 1985. From 1986 almost all entries include abstracts.

    Informaworld : journals (connect | more information)

    The specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare are now available in one dedicated journals database.

  • Includes full text
  • Informit (connect | more information)

    Collection of online bibliographic databases, includes summaries/abstracts of journal articles on Australian political, economic, legal, social, aboriginal, health, family, technical and cultural affairs indexed in over 80 databases including APAIS, AIATSIS etc.

    Informit e-library : humanities & social sciences collection (connect | more information)

    Informit e-Library - Humanities & Social Sciences Collection provides access to the full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. It focuses on Australian and Asia-Pacific information. Subjects covered include Arts and Entertainment, Culture and Politics, Education and Research, Indigenous Peoples and Science and Technology.

  • Includes full text
  • IngentaConnect (connect | more information)

    Online service providing full text access to journals covering all subject disciplines from scholarly, academic and business publishers.

  • Includes full text
  • Intute (connect | more information)

    From the Intute homepage: "Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources."

    Intute. Arts & humanities (connect | more information)

    "Intute is a free online service providing ... access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of the resources." -- Intute home page.

  • Includes full text
  • KISS :Han'guk ui haeksim chisik chongbo chawon (connect | more information)

    Full text database of Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications and research papers published by over 1,200 research institutions in Korea. KISS offers over 1 million full text articles from over 5,600 journals, covering all subject areas.

  • Includes full text
  • KoreaA2Z (connect | more information)

    KoreaA2Z is a knowledge content resource for Korean studies, including full-text online databases collecting primary sources and classics organized by subjects or format. Works such as the History of the Three Kingdoms (Sam'guk sagi )-in over a hundred editions-the Four Books and the Three Classics (Saso samgyong ), and the Digital Encyclopedia of National Culture (EncyKorea) are included in KoreaA2Z.--Database description, eKorean studies.

  • Includes full text
  • KSI e-Book (connect | more information)

    Provides access to over 4,500 electronic books and theses that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Korea.

  • Includes full text
  • Literature, arts and medicine database (connect | more information)

    The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database is an annotated bibliography of prose, poetry, film, video and art which was developed to be a dynamic, accessible, comprehensive resource in medical humanities, for use in health/pre-health and liberal arts settings.

  • Includes full text
  • Middle Eastern & Central Asian studies (connect | more information)

    Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Subjects covered include: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology.

    NDLTD (connect | more information)

    Presents a collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes theses and dissertations from North Carolina State University, the University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and West Virginia University. Allows users to search the theses and dissertations. Provides access to other schools with electronic theses and dissertations collections, including the University of Michigan and the University of Waterloo.

  • Includes full text
  • Open J-gate : 3000+ open access journals (connect | more information)

    Open J-Gate is an electronic gateway to global journal literature in open access domain. It provides seamless access to millions of journal articles available online. It indexes articles from 3000+ open access journals, with links to full text at publisher sites.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford dictionary of national biography (connect | more information)

    The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included; the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2003.

  • Includes full text
  • Oxford journals (connect | more information)

    Provides full-text online access to electronic journals published by the Oxford University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given in an "About this journal" section. The "Online journals" table lists the available online material for each journal. The full text of these online journals is generally available for the past several years, though abstracts of articles date back additional years. Allows searching across the Oxford Journals collection or browsing by title.

  • Includes full text
  • Periodicals archive online (connect | more information)

    Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format, which are growing steadily in number.

  • Includes full text
  • Project Muse (connect | more information)

    Database provides full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and some other university presses in the disciplines of arts, humanities and social sciences.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    SA ePublications (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South African journals. Journals are bundled together according to the following areas of interest: business & finance, and social sciences & humanties. The SA ePublications service offers access to full-text versions of articles that are exact copies of the printed versions. It offers contents pages of full-text articles and abstracts and the availability of an archive.

  • Includes full text
  • Scirus : for scientific information only (connect | more information)

    A comprehensive science-specific search engine which returns results from the web and the following journal sources: ScienceDirect, MEDLINE on BioMedNet, Beilstein on ChemWeb, Neuroscion, BioMed Central, US Patent Office, E-Print ArXiv, Chemistry PrePrint Server, Mathematics PrePrint Server, CogPrints and NASA. Limit an Advanced search to a subject area, a particular source or a document type, such as conferences, patents, journal articles, preprints, web sites or books. Search results can be ranked according to relevance, or sorted by date.

    Web magazineplus (connect | more information)

    Indexes over 8,500 journals, faculty papers and annual reports of academic institutions published in Japan. Areas covered include medicine, science, humanities, popular culture, business and social sciences. Updated weekly.

    Web of knowledge (connect | more information)

    ISI Web of Knowledge is a single interface for searching individual ISI products or multiple products simultaneously. ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (for science, social science and humanities, 1990 to present), Current Contents Connect (1998 to present) and Journal Citation Reports (for science and social science, 2000 to 2007) may be accessed through this online resource.
    See also: Web of Science | Current Contents Connect | Journal Citation Reports: Science; Social sciences

    Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

    World Digital Library (connect | more information)

    The WDL will make available on the Internet significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials. The objectives of the World Digital Library are to promote international and inter-cultural understanding and awareness, provide resources to educators, expand non-English and non-Western content on the Internet, and to contribute to scholarly research. Items on the WDL may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search, in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information.

  • Includes full text
  • YARP : your arts prizes (connect | more information)

    "Yarp provides detailed information about arts prizes, residencies, scholarships, grants and fellowships from around Australia. From the smallest regional arts prizes right through to the largest, high profile prizes, prize monies vary from $50 to hundreds of thousands of dollars worth. Each record [in the database] includes prize opening date, prize closing date, exhibition date, prize pool total, entry fee costs, whether prize is acquisitive or not, prize website, entry restrictions, details of the prize including breakdown of individual prize categories and dollar values for each, medium/s of prize, genre of prize, organisation contact details, venue contact details, [and] individual contact details where available."--Scope of the database.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases